Recovery

Yes, it’s 4 a.m. Yes, my first day of a contract job is technically today. And yes, this is when Gatsby decides to have paw problems.

After we went to bed, Gatsby was extremely restless. He would get up, go into the living room, and then I’d hear scraping sounds. I got up to yell at him to knock it off, only to discover he was rubbing his paw on the ground repeatedly. Apparently, he had stepped in mud on our nightly walk, and the mud dried in the cracks of his pads, irritating his paw. Every time I tried to touch it, he cried and got squirmy. And then I cried and felt terrible.

After holding him for a bit, I manned up, soaked his paw in warm water, and picked every last bit of mud out of his pad. Gave him one of grandma’s Grey Girl Farms treats (his favorite) as an “I’m sorry,” and now, an hour later, he’s all tucked in comfortably.

And I have to get up in 4 hours. Sigh.

IMG_0904.JPG

One thought on “Recovery

Comments are closed.